Best Suspended License Attorney in Los Angeles
What Can Cause a License Suspension?
Under California law, it is illegal to drive with a suspended license or without a license. While driving without a license in California is pretty straightforward and easy to understand, the laws surrounding suspended licenses are much more complex.
While most people are aware that drunk or drugged driving will get your license suspended as well as having too many tickets or moving violations on your record, there are other reasons that are not as commonly known.
Some of the reasons for a driver’s license suspension in California include the driver is guilty of:
- A DUI conviction or driving under the influence of alcohol
- Not reporting an accident
- Having too many points on your driving record
- Failing to appear in court for a traffic ticket
- Driving while under the influence of drugs, even drugs that are prescribed to you but may impair your judgment or ability to remain alert
- Drinking alcohol while underage
- Failure to pay a fine for a traffic ticket
- Vandalizing another person’s property
- Getting in an accident when not carrying at least the minimal vehicle insurance required by law
- Refusing to complete a chemical test for intoxication via a urine test, breath test, or blood test
- Failure to pay child support (Section 17520 California Family Code)
Not knowing that your license is suspended is usually not a valid defense. You should never try to fight a suspended license charge on your own. It can seem that the evidence is stacked against you, and you have no recourse. That is why having a criminal defense lawyer to help get your driver’s license back is so important.
The Manshoory Law Group is a top law firm in Los Angeles. We have the expertise and ability to help you lessen your suspension or get your license back immediately.
Understanding the California License Points System
Most states in the US use a driver’s license point system. When a driver commits an offense, he or she receives a certain number of points. Different infractions are assigned a different number of points. If the driver accumulates too many points, he or she may face certain penalties including driver license suspension.
Even minor offenses can balloon into much bigger problems as points increase. A suspended license attorney can help keep the points off of your record, so you never have to experience driver’s license suspension.
Under California traffic laws, the penalty for traffic offenses is 1 or 2 license points for each offense. Fines and other penalties may also be handed down as well.
Minor traffic offenses are assigned 1 point while more serious offenses are assigned 2.
1 Point Offenses:
- Failure to yield the right of way to pedestrians
- Violating HOV double lane line restrictions
- Violating the requirements for safely restraining a child
- Not stopping for a stop sign
- Unsafe passing
- Failure to obey traffic signs or signals
- Not stopping for a red light
- Not stopping for a school bus
- Illegal U-turns
2 Point Offenses:
- Operating a vehicle with a revoked or suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Hit and run accidents that result in injury or damage
- Evading law enforcement
- Exceeding 100 mph while driving
A California driver’s license may be revoked or suspended if they accumulate:
- 4 points in a 12 month period
- 6 points in a 24 month period
- 8 points in a 36 month period
Removing points from your driving record can be a lengthy process in some cases. However, a good license restoration lawyer can help you avoid suspension or get your license back.
Driving On a Suspended License: VC 14601
California Vehicle Code 14601 makes it a crime to drive without a license or on a suspended license knowing that your license has been suspended because you:
- Have too many points on your driving record.
- Have a mental or physical impairment that prevents you from carefully operating a vehicle.
- Or you have a prior conviction or convictions for Driving Under the Influence.
A criminal defense attorney for a suspended license can help you avoid getting points on your license as well as help you with other issues that may have led to your suspension. They will assess your case, help you clear your license, and clear your name so you can get back on the road quickly.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Los Angeles
Driving with a Suspended License in Los Angeles under Vehicle Code 14601 is a misdemeanor that includes possible jail time and heavy fines. The gravity of your punishment depends on why your license was suspended in the first place and whether you have prior VC 14601 convictions.
Some of the penalties for driving on a suspended license include:
- Driver’s License was suspended for a prior DUI conviction: you face 10 days to 6 months in County Jail, plus a $300-$1000 fine.
- Driver’s License was suspended for negligent driving: you face 5 days to 6 months in County Jail, plus a $300-$1000 fine.
- Driver’s License was suspended for refusing to submit to a chemical test during a DUI investigation: up to 6 months in County Jail, plus a $300-$1000 fine.
- Habitual traffic offenders while Driver’s License was suspended you face a mandatory 30 days in County Jail, plus a $1000 fine.
If you are charged with a VC 14601 violation, in Las Vegas California please do not hesitate to call the suspended license attorneys at Manshoory Law Group right away. We have helped countless drivers avoid serving jail time and have successfully negotiated many VC 14601 violations down to lesser charges.
Driving Without a License VC 12500
In California, driving without a license under Vehicle Code 12500 is often charged along with a 14601 VC violation. To be charged with a violation of VC 12500, the prosecutor need only prove that:
- You were driving a motor vehicle, and
- You did so while you were an unlicensed driver. (Unlike VC 14601, there is no knowledge requirement)
Vehicle Code 12500 can be charged as a misdemeanor, which carries a sentence of up to 6 months in jail, plus a criminal record. But may also be charged as an infraction and the penalty for that is fined. An infraction does not create a criminal record.
A driver’s license lawyer can help you avoid some of the criminal charges that you may face. They will work with you, ensuring that your rights are protected. They can help minimize your sentence or reduce it, so your penalties are less.
Should I Get a Lawyer for Driving Without a License or on a Suspended License in Los Angeles?
If you have been charged with driving without a license in California, or you are facing the possibility of suspension, we can help. Manshoory Law Group will walk you through your case from start to finish and be there for you every step of the way. We’ll defend you and work hard to clear your name.
Manshoory Law Group has successfully negotiated hundreds of VC 12500 violations to infractions and lowered both the penalty and charges down of a VC 14601 violation. The penalties for driving without a valid license or a suspended license are severe.
If you find yourself accused of such a crime, don’t hesitate to contact a professional Los Angeles suspended license lawyer.