A violent beating at a Southern California bus stop resulted in charges for the assailant. Kenneth Heimlich of Placentia, 33, was arrested and charged with assault, battery as well as second-degree robbery. Heimlich kicked and stomped on a 65-year old victim in Buena Park after which, he made off with the man’s bicycle on Wednesday, June 12. Police indicate there is video evidence of Heimlich engaging in these ultra-violent acts against the victim on Wednesday.
Heimlich was also implicated in two additional assaults including a misdemeanor battery on a police officer. According to the Buena Park police, the 65-year old victim remains in critical condition at the hospital and is unconscious. At the current time, his identity has not yet been made public.
Criminal Assault and Battery Laws in California
In the state of California, the words “assault” and “battery” are not interchangeable. They mean two different things. Assault refers to an attempt to be violent towards another individual. While, according to California Penal Code 242 PC, a battery is the actual act of violence perpetrated on another individual. Each of these terms is considered its own separate crime, and as such, there are differences in the punishments associated with each.
Penalties for Assault and Battery in California
You are faced with either a fine of up to $1000 or by a 6-month stint in the county jail for any assault charges in which you are found guilty. In some circumstances, those who are charged with and liable for assault may have to serve the 6-month sentence as well as pay the fine.
Charges for a battery are tougher. They can come with a more hefty fine upwards of two thousand dollars. It may also carry with it up to six months in county jail. Simple battery is no joking matter. When you are charged with battery on a private citizen, it is considered a misdemeanor.
The punishments and classifications change, however, when you engage in physical violence against a civil servant such as a police officer, firefighter, or EMT. If this happens, you could still be charged with a misdemeanor, but depending on the severity of the incident, it may be upped to a felony charge.
Criminal Defense and Suspended License Attorneys in Southern California
If you have been arrested and charged with assault, it is important to contact a knowledgeable Southern California violent crime attorney at the Manshoory Law Group. You will need legal representation to guide you and support you throughout your case. Our California-based criminal defense attorneys at the Manshoory Law Group are skilled when it comes to criminal law and we are advocates for those who are facing serious charges.
The criminal laws in the state of California change often, and you can’t risk working with an attorney that doesn’t keep up in this demanding legal arena. For your best chance at mounting a successful defense, call us today at 877-977-7750. Obtain a free case analysis from one of our highly efficient and experienced Southern California criminal defense attorneys.